The Parish Church of St George the Martyr, Waterlooville

homepage

As daylight hours begin to shorten, here is a selection of thought-provoking books to help lighten the darker evenings.

Eager To Love. The Alternative Way of Francis of Assisi by Richard Rohr

Both traditional and entirely revolutionary, Francis of Assisi was a paradox. Rohr draws on scripture, insights from psychology and literary and artistic references, to weave together an understanding of the tradition as first practiced by St. Francis. He shows how his own innovative theology is firmly grounded in the life and teaching of this great saint.

Ref 4545 (Hodder & Stoughton) 9.99

Like A Tramp. Like A Pilgrim.  On foot, across Europe to Rome by Harry Bucknall

Like Continuum’s bestselling A Pilgrim in Spain by Christopher Howse, Harry Bucknall’s book concerns a long journey on foot from St. Paul’s to St. Peter’s in Rome (1,300 miles). Though not as well-known as the Road to Compostella, this route, known as the Via Francigena, has been celebrated for centuries. In the tradition of Hilaire Belloc’s The Path To Rome, Bucknall’s writing resembles that of Christopher Howse – it is witty, erudite, spiritual and packed with incident. His journey takes him through Southwark, Canterbury, Calais, Agincourt, Reims, Lake Geneva, Valle d’Aosta, Lucca, La Foce, and the Via Cassia to Rome and the Vatican.

Ref 4484 (Continuum) 11.99

The Meal Jesus Gave Us by Tom Wright

A concise, simple and thoroughly biblical explanation of the meaning and purpose of Holy Communion, designed to appeal to all ages. Explains its biblical origins; the different ways in which Christians have understood it over the centuries, and its crucial place in the Christian Life today, with questions for reflection or discussion at the end of each chapter. Ideas for complete beginners, and anyone wanting a quick and easy refresher course.

Ref 4454 (SPCK) 6.49

Row For Freedom by Julia Immonen

Thirty-two year old Julia Immonen and four other women took on a challenge completed by fewer people than have climbed Mount Everest or gone into space: row three thousand miles, unaided, across the Atlantic. Chronicling and detailing the gruelling, peril-filled crossing, which broke two world records, this book weaves together Julia’s search for hope and purpose against a background of relationships scarred by violence. Julia’s physical and emotional treks unfold to reveal the desperate plight of the 30 million victims of the modern-day slave trade – the tragedy that served as the motivation for her row.

Ref 4560 (Thomas Nelson) 7.99

God Is Not Mad At You by Joyce Meyer

Is a paradox that isn’t often discussed by Christian teachers: God loved the world so much that he gave his son to rescue mankind, yet so many think of him as a stern judge who is ready to punish us at the slightest mis-step. In God Is Not Mad At You, Joyce examines the sources of this mixed message and untangles the confusion that most Christians experience. Chapters include, Perfectionism and Approval; The Pain Of Rejection; Guilt and Shame; Developing Your Potential; Run To God, Not from Him, and Getting Comfortable with God.

Ref 4553 (Hodder & Stoughton) 8.99


All suggestions taken from the September 2014 edition of Aslan Christian Books.

www.aslanchristianbooks.com.

08453 679676 or I can order for you.

Lynn Winter


Autumn Edition 2014

Book Corner